A most welcomed comment from Australia

Thank you for this most interesting article on Mr Lauder.
My Father Wally Gibson was also a F/E with 420 squadron, but did not go operational until January 1945 after crew training at 1666 HCU Wombleton. He completed 17 missions before the war ended with the McHolm crew. Dad was 37 years old and was the “Daddy” of the crew. I have always wondered why most Canadian crews had a RAF flight engineer… now I know.

I feel my Dad’s journey was very similar to Mr Lauder’s, but some 6 months or so behind him. It has given me a real insight into probably the journey my dad took. My wife and I are visiting the UK in October this year, and will be visiting the new International Bomber Command Centre in Lincoln. We can’t wait.
To Mr Lauder I wish to say thank you to you and all your buddies who did such a wonderful job. We are very proud of you all.

With kindest regards

Keith Gibson, Melbourne, Australia

NMcHolmcrew

The N. McHolm Crew of 420 Squadron

Source: http://www.6bombergroup.ca/420Crews/pages/NMcHolmCrew.html

Photo graciously supplied by Keith Gibson

“My father Wally Gibson was a flight engineer with 420 squadron. The skipper was Norm McHolm, Bob H. Keane WOP,  Jim Wilson Mid upper gunner, Dennis Stratton,Tail gunner,
Jack Judge Navigator, and Al Louden Bomb aimer.”

Leave a comment